Take two

Standard

The Sketchbook

I had to shake things up a bit today because I was so displeased with my sketch of this same church from yesterday. Lifeless! Dead! Muddy washes!

I went back to the same spot as yesterday, found the same parking spot (thankfully free) but this time I did everything differently. Instead of using a wash first and ink line second (which felt a bit like outlining) I started by trying to do a more expressive ink drawing using my Lami Safari pen and some black ink. Instead of sitting in my car, I got out and stood outside. Felt a bit like a bear coming out of hibernation. I used smooth paper from my Moleskine sketchbook instead of the watercolour Moleskine. And then I added a bit of wash to finish it up. I am much happier with this result. Even though I made a few mistakes in the drawing…

View original post 46 more words

Leave a Reply

